Fourth Classes

Fourth Classes

The Primary School Curriculum (1999) outlines the contents of children’s learning—the what and how of children’s learning—from third class to sixth class from St. Mark’s Senior National School. The curriculum aims to:

  • develop each child’s potential to the full
  • encourage a love of learning
  • help children develop skills they will use all their lives.

The curriculum is presented in seven areas, some of which are further subdivided into subjects. These are:

Language: Gaeilge and English


Social, environmental and scientific education (SESE): History, Geography, Science

Arts education: visual arts, music and drama

Physical education

Social, personal and health education (SPHE): Stay Safe, Relationships and Sexuality Education, Weaving Wellbeing

Religious or ethical education is the responsibility of the different school patron bodies.

Extra initiatives in the school are Reading for Enjoyment and Pleasure (REP) and Weaving Wellbeing.

Additional information can be found at:

St. Mark's S.N.S.
Maplewood Road
Dublin 24

01 451 3138

© 2020 St. Mark's Senior National School